A Rich History

The St. Peter congregation was organized in 1872 under the leadership of Rev. J. Henry Cox, a mission minded pastor from Logansport, Indiana.  The first church building was a 26x40ft wooden structure that was built on the parking lot of our former building on East Talmer Ave.  The church was dedicated in October 1873.  The founders of the church, prompted by Proverbs 22:6 which says “Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.”, began a Christian Day school.  For 19 years school was held in the church building.  Several of the church’s first pastors had the responsibility
circa 1900 school children
of teaching the four R’s (religion being the fourth).  Since the pastor also taught students in surrounding towns, school only met two days a week.  To make up for this school was held nearly year round, with the exception being August, when it was either too hot or children were needed at home to work.
 
In 1880 the church became affiliated with the Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Missouri, Ohio, and other states, now known as the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod.  In December 1874  St. Peter’s called its first full time pastor.   The first school building was constructed in 1893 on the site of the former church on East Talmer Ave.  The congregation called its first full time teacher in 1912.                                                                                                    school children circa 1900
                                                                                                              
1959 school construction
Plans began for the former church building located on East Talmer Ave in June of 1919.  The old school was sold and moved to a new location at 110 E. Weninger St.  The original church was updated into a school building.   The cornerstone laying for the church was on
October 12, 1919.  In 1936, a school was built as an annex to the church.
 
Plans for a new Education Center began in 1959.  Students moved into the new facility  at its current location on West Talmer Ave. in January 1961.  After many years of desiring to have a new church next to the Education Center, the decision to build a new church was made in December 1971.  The groundbreaking and cornerstone laying ceremonies took place in 1974.  The current church building was dedicated in June 1975.
 
Preschool was added to the school in January 1992.  The school was fully accredited by the National Association Committee of the LC-MS in August 1995 and maintains this accreditation today as well as accreditation by the State of Indiana.
In the summer of 2000 a committee was formed to look into the future needs of the congregation.  A set of future goals was adopted in 2001. 
 
17 construction
A building committee was formed in 2006 to explore the possibility of adding on to the school.  Groundbreaking for the new project was held on May 20, 2007.  The 
Laborers for Christ, a group of men and women who do physical labor for Christ, were contacted and were able to help us a great deal with our building project.  Students were able to move into the new classrooms in the spring of 2008.  The new addition was dedicated in April, 2008.  The addition physically joins the church and school, also signifying the connection they have to one another.
 
We joyfully look forward to what God has in store for St. Peter Lutheran Church and School.